Mercenary from unknown lands: Assorted musings

Not actually part of the submission itself, but my submission for this month’s Carnival of Aces is the most ambitious one I’ve written. It’s going to have 3 or 4-parts to it, not including this. I’ve been working on it through the month, and feel like it’s a race against time to get all of it up before the end of the month.

There’s so much I have to say about this month’s theme. It’s one of the reasons I started this blog, it’s one of the things I blog for. There are many things I’ve been wanting to say since I’ve started this blog, but struggled with, but this month’s Carnival of Aces may be the perfect prompt to get so many of those thoughts out.

Some time ago, The Asexual Agenda asked what is it we blog for? I didn’t get to responding to it, because I’ve been so busy, but part of it is so that I can get many of my thoughts out, to try to find others who understand, and reach out to those who can relate.

The overarching theme of the multi-part submission I’m writing is that I see some communities who could’ve been allies, except differences in language keep them apart, and it’s sad. I also feel like I have to pick sides, since I’ve only seen maybe three other people try to pledge loyalty to both sides, and I haven’t heard from any of them in a long time. One of my ambitions has been to bridge the gaps in understanding. One of the things that has been nagging at me is if there really is a conflict of interest issue, or a divided loyalty issue in trying to do so. I’m not sure if it actually is, because this is one of those things I haven’t been able to talk about.

Because of that, and that I didn’t find the asexual community first, is why I see myself as a mercenary to the asexual community. I serve it, but have felt doubt over whether I can be part of it, because of my circumstances. If I had found the asexual community first, and adhered to their ideas first, I would’ve been, but things didn’t turn out that way.

4 thoughts on “Mercenary from unknown lands: Assorted musings

  1. cinderace

    Thanks for writing about this topic; I think it’s important and look forward to reading the rest of your posts. I hope the writing goes smoothly and that it isn’t too stressful trying to get it all done!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Aqua Post author

      Thanks! I’m glad that you’re interested in this topic! I’ve been struggling with it the whole much. So much to say, so little time. I’m still nervous about this, because I haven’t seen anyone handle this topic outright. I haven’t seen that many people who associate with both the asexual community, and any part of the “celibate” community (and certainly not the part that I mainly associate with).

      Like

      Reply
    1. Aqua Post author

      It’s true that people know their own in-groups the best, and are prone to stereotyping out-groups, or just underestimating their diversity even if the out-groups are ones that could make good allies based on similar experiences and goals. For alliances to be effective between communities, they have to acknowledge that the other community’s experiences are as diverse.

      Like

      Reply

Your thoughts?...

