Started a page on voluntary celibacy!

I published the first version (though I made one edit before publishing this post) of a “voluntary celibacy 101“ page, which is also available under the “101-level resources” link in the menu.

I’ve been meaning to write that page for a long time, but for so long, I had been stumped on how to approach it, because of the lack of set term among those who could be considered celibate. I thought, how could I write a voluntary celibacy 101 page without it being a total mess? Then the idea hit me recently, I found a way to address this issue, and found a way that I could write about it.

I could still use some input on it, as there are sections I got started on adding, only to remove them before publishing. Should I add in a section about romantic relationships and nonamory, or would that work better as a separate page?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Started a page on voluntary celibacy!

  1. luvtheheaven

    I would change the phrasing in a few parts.

    Where you said:
    “The motivations behind religious vows of celibacy vary, but some people who may or may not want to get married, choose to be celibate, giving up sex and marriage in order to devote their lives to serving their community.”

    I would change it to:

    “The motivations behind religious vows of celibacy vary, but some people who may or may not want to get married choose to be celibate, giving up sex until marriage, or sacrificing marriage as well and usually all romance as well as sex in the process of devoting their lives to serving their community.”

    Or something along those lines.

    For this other part:
    “Not all asexuals are celibate, but the lack of desire for sex that comes naturally to asexuality can be the primary reason, or an influencing factor behind being celibate. See “Intersection/overlap with asexuality” below.”

    Instead of “the lack of desire for sex that comes naturally to asexuality”, I would try to be more inclusive in the phrasing to make it so sexually active aces don’t sound like an oxymoron. Simply saying: “Not all asexuals are celibate, but for those who are celibate, they often cite their asexuality as the “primary reason” for not having sex. See “Intersection/overlap with asexuality” below.” Would work, wouldn’t it?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Aqua Post author

      Thanks for your input, and I’ll make those changes! I know I sometimes I struggle with the right wording, so I appreciate your help!

      Like

      Reply
  2. luvtheheaven

    Oh and “Although there is no consensus on what nonsexuality is among the people who identify with that term, some whom identify as nonsexual report that they’re asexuals who are sexually inactive due to the lack of interest for sex.” — makes me want to know at least 1 or 2 other reasons people identify as nonsexual. It feels like you are awkwardly focusing too narrowly on asexuality when you list it as the only reason people might call themselves “nonsexual”. That page you wrote isn’t all about the intersection of asexuality and voluntary celibacy. It’s supposed to be a general page about voluntary celibacy in general, correct? So I’d suggest that you explain non-asexuality related reasons for identifying as nonsexual if you can. Even if the reasons have nothing to do with celibacy, I think you should explain that as well. 😛

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Linkspam: July 24th, 2015 | The Asexual Agenda

Your thoughts?...

